top of page
Search

Welcome to the Brookstone College Counseling Blog!

This is a strange time of year in my office. The senior class is just about finished applying to colleges, but there are students who still need to finalize lists and apply. At the same time, the junior class is starting to get anxious about what lies ahead for them. As I think about what to write for my first blog post, I thought that I would address both the senior and junior classes and by extension their parents.


Seniors, now is the time to look over your list. Do you like it? Are all of the colleges on your list your “first” choice? Have you had a good conversation with your parents about your list? Just as important, have you talked with your college counselor about your list? As I tell students all the time, “You are one going to college, not your parents and not me.” Also, don’t forget to make sure that your parents are completing the FAFSA. It has always been important for you to be checking your email, but now it is even more important. Colleges will be communicating a great deal of information over the next few months, including admission decisions. Keep your college counselor in the loop. We are here to celebrate with you as well as help you when you get a decision you might not have been expecting.


The upcoming holiday season can be difficult for seniors. Talk around the holiday table often turns to college. I encourage you to have an answer ready when asked by your favorite relative, “Where are you going to college?” You need to do your best to control this conversation. An answer like, “I am not sure yet, but I have a great list and I like all of my schools. I will let you know as soon as I make a decision. Can you please pass the pumpkin pie?” might be a good way to move the conversation to a different subject.


Juniors are now starting to get anxious and at the same time excited about the upcoming process. Questions like the following are filling their minds – Should I take the ACT or SAT? Are my grades going to be strong enough to get into a good college? Have I done enough in high school to be a good applicant? I don’t know where to start? Am I behind? Rest assured, you are not behind, and by attending Brookstone, you will be well prepared to be a competitive applicant. All of your questions will be answered over the next several months. The college counseling process at Brookstone takes an individualized approach to each student and meets that student wherever he or she is in the process.


The holiday season can also be a stressful time for juniors. Well-intentioned relatives could very well start asking, “Where are you applying to college?” or claiming, “I went to X University and loved it, so you should apply!” As I suggested to the seniors, you should have answers prepared for those questions. Good answers might be, “I am just starting the process and would enjoy talking about something else right now,” or “I am glad that you liked X university, but I am not sure what I am looking for in a college right now.” Please remember that this process is unique to you. You are the one going through it. You will receive a great deal of advice in the months ahead. The college counseling office is here for you to help you sort out the advice that you are being given, to help you build a great list, and most importantly be your advocate throughout the process.


I wish you all a wonderful holiday season!

Recent Posts

See All

Kurt Vonnegut and College Advice?

Renowned author Kurt Vonnegut took an unflinching look at the world, tempered with a satirical eye and sardonic sense of humor. In a career spanning over 50 years, he published 14 novels, three short

College Admission Book Recommendations

There are hundreds of books about the college admission process available today. All of them tend to focus on the subject of “how to get in.” Over vacation, I read the most recent book to focus on the

bottom of page